Legislative Leaders Say 2020 Regular Session Won’t Reconvene

Posted on April 21, 2020


Republican and Democrat legislative leaders on Tuesday announced that the regular 2020 session will not reconvene before the May 6 constitutional adjournment date. In a joint statement, House Republican Leader Themis Klarides, Senate Minority Leader Len Fasano, Speaker of the House Joe Aresimowicz, Senate President Martin M. Looney, House Majority Leader Matt Ritter, and Senate Majority Leader Bob Duff said,

“The 2020 regular legislative session will adjourn without any further action, and we are already working on a plan to convene a special session in the coming months to ensure the continuity of government functions and that any necessary legislative action can be taken. Our top priority is the health and safety of the public, and we are committed to continue working in unison to stem this health crisis and do everything possible to protect the Connecticut residents we all represent.”