Visit the state's Coronavirus Portal for up-to-date information Click Here...

Trumbull House Delegation Hosts Fifth Women’s History Month Essay Contest

Posted on May 25, 2021


TRUMBULL– State Representatives David Rutigliano (R-123), Laura Devlin (R-134) and Ben McGorty (R-122) hosted their Fifth Annual House of Representatives Women’s History Month Essay Contest at Madison Middle School on Saturday May 22nd.

Earlier this year, the legislators contacted interested schools so that students could write essays during March, which is designated as Women’s History Month, with the sixth grade students from Trumbull schools submitting essays on the topic: “Important Women in Connecticut’s History and How Their Contributions to the State and Nation Affect Me.”

Each student wrote a 300-word essay on the topic with the focus on one notable Connecticut woman, detailing her life and accomplishments and what those contributions mean to them. During the ceremony, the winning and runners up students read their winning essays to the audience, sharing what historic woman was important to them.

“Covid might have delayed the ceremony a little bit but the essay contest is always one of my favorite legislative events of the year. Trumbull students and teachers have been through so much this year; they are an inspiration; and do such a great job. These students are great representatives of the Town of Trumbull,” said Rep. Rutigliano.

“The quality shown in all the essays, especially the winning essays, is impressive and demonstrates how thoughtful and engaged these students are with the world around us,” Rep. Devlin said. “It’s an honor to recognize their talent, and I know we’ll see great things from them in the future. Congratulations. I value giving young people the opportunity to learn about notable women in Connecticut’s history who’ve stood up to conventional attitudes to make a difference”.

“While I was unfortunately unable to attend the award ceremony this year, it was a pleasure to once again participate in a contest that showcases the excellence of Trumbull schools. Congratulations to all our participants on their excellent submissions,” Rep. McGorty said.

Hillcrest Middle School

First Place: Aditi Jabitapuram – “Dr. Alice Hamilton”

Second Place: Subhang Prabhala – “Rebecca Lobo”

Madison Middle School

First place: James Czajkowski – “Kristen Griest”

Second place: Lucy Karimi – “Clare Boothe Luce”

St. Theresa School

First place: Sophie DeCastro – “Helen Keller”

Second place: Matheus DaSilva – “Kristen Marie Griest”