Schools to Reopen, DMV Update, and New Travel Advisory

Posted on June 26, 2020 by admin


Dear Friends,

Below are three updates from the governor and state departments: the reopening of schools this fall, limited in-person services at certain DMV locations, and a new tri-state travel advisory for Connecticut, New Jersey, and New York.

Schools to Reopen this Fall

Distance learning has allowed our educators to continue doing their very important jobs during the height of this pandemic, but it has also presented several challenges. Between internet issues, difficulty accessing electronic devices, and other technology barriers, many teachers, parents, and students have found themselves limited in what can be accomplished online. Generally speaking, the virtual classrooms, while necessary, have not provided the same experience as in-person instruction.

The governor announced yesterday that full-time, in-person classes, under strict guidelines, can resume this fall. Some of these safety measures include grouping teachers/students into cohorts to limit their exposure to other members of the school community; better utilization of existing space/facilities to maximize social distancing (i.e. using gyms and cafeterias as classrooms); requiring face coverings for students and teachers while on buses and in school buildings; and other requirements.

This is subject to change if public health data signals a resurgence in COVID-19 cases.

Read the full press release: Click Here

DMV Now Offering Limited In-Person Services

The state Department of Motor Vehicles is now offering limited in-person services by appointment only. Services include license and non-driver ID cards, out-of-state transfers, and CDL updates (Hamden office only). Some services are still available online and renewals on other items now have extended deadlines.

Click here to make an appointment.

Tri-State Governors Announce Travel Advisory

Governor Lamont, Governor Cuomo (New York), and Governor Murphy (New Jersey) have announced a joint travel advisory, now in effect, for individuals coming from states with high COVID-19 rates. These individuals are advised to self-quarantine for 14 days from their last point of contact within one of the affected states. As of Wednesday, this applies to individuals coming from Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas, and Utah. The list will be updated as needed.

Read the full release: Click Here

As always, please contact me if you have any questions, comments, concerns, or ideas regarding the state and local response to COVID-19, plans to reopen our schools and economy, or any state government matter. I am happy to help in any way possible.


As we approach the July 4 holiday, I hope you are able to reunite with family and friends. Wishing you and your loved ones a happy, healthy, and safe Independence Day next week!

Warm regards,




State Representative Livvy Floren

149th Connecticut House District

Greenwich, Stamford