Governor Lamont expands travel advisory; mandates self-quarantine

Posted on July 22, 2020


Friends and Neighbors,

Last night, Governor Lamont expanded the state’s travel advisory to 31 states and announced Executive Order 7III that mandates visitors from those states with high COVID-19 infection rates to self-quarantine or face a $1,000 fine.

Executive Order No. 7III enacts the following provisions:

  • Repeal of advisory self-quarantine: Repeals Executive Order No. 7BBB, Section 1.
  • Mandatory self-quarantine for travelers from states with high COVID-19 infection levels: Implements a mandatory self-quarantine for travelers from states with high infection or test positivity rates for COVID-19. This includes requiring affected travelers to complete a form upon entry into Connecticut for submission to the Department of Public Health. Failure to comply with the order may result in a $1,000 penalty.
  • Extension of statutory or regulatory deadlines by DMV: Permits the commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles to extend statutory or regulatory deadlines pertaining to matters under her jurisdiction for 90 days.  

**Download: Governor Lamont’s Executive Order No. 7III

Regional travel advisory expands to 31 states with high COVID-19 infection rates

The regional travel advisory between Connecticut, New Jersey, and New York that went into effect last month and directs incoming travelers from states with a significant community spread of COVID-19 to self-quarantine for a 14-day period was updated today and now includes a total of 31 states. Ten states have been added to the list (Alaska, Delaware, Indiana, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, Virginia, and Washington) and one state has been removed (Minnesota).

The quarantine applies to any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or a state with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

As of today, the list of 31 states meeting this criteria includes:

  • Alaska
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin

This list will continue to be updated on a regular basis as the situation develops across the country. Anyone seeking the most up-to-date information on the regional travel advisory is encouraged to visit the state’s coronavirus website at