The Glastonbury Police Department is now offering Child Safety Seat installations and inspections for town residents by appointment. According to Safe Kids Connecticut, only 1 in 5 car seats in Connecticut are used properly. Know for sure that your child is buckled in safely and correctly – every trip, every time.
Contact Agent Anthony Pagliughi at
firstname.lastname@example.org or (860) 633-8301
to schedule your appointment.
It is important to also note that as of October 2017, a new law in Connecticut increased age and weight requirements for car seats. Children must remain in rear-facing child restraints up to age 2, and children who have outgrown car seats use booster seats through age 8, or until seat belts fit properly. Child restraint systems are also now required to be equipped with a five-point harness.
Specialists say that these changes, recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics, will better protect our children.
The following is a break-down of the revised child restraint requirements under this new law:
- Any child who is under 2 years old or weighs less than 30 pounds, regardless of age, must be placed in a rear-facing child restraint.
- A child between ages 2 and 4 or weighing between 30 to 39 pounds, regardless of age, must ride in either rear-facing or forward-facing child restraint.
- A child age 5 to 7 or weighing 40 to 59 pounds, regardless of age, must sit in a rear-facing child restraint, a forward-facing child restraint or a booster seat secured by a lap-and-shoulder seat belt.
- Any adolescent from 8 through 15 who weighs 60 pounds or more must use an approved child restraint system or a safety seat belt.
Please note that violations of these regulations could result in fees amounting to approximately $100.
Putting our children’s safety first is so important, please share this knowledge with others.