I would like you to know that, starting on October 1st, a new law in Connecticut will increase the age and weight requirements for car seats, and require that child restraint systems be equipped with a five-point harness. Specialists say these changes will better protect our children.
With this new law, Connecticut becomes the eighth state to accept the recommendations of the American Academy of Pediatrics that propose children remain in rear-facing child restraints up to age 2, and children who have outgrown car seats use booster seats through age 8, or until seat belts fit properly.
By accepting these recommendations, Connecticut hopes to further decrease fatal or incapacitating injuries.
The following is a break-down of the revised child restraint requirements under this new law:
- Any child who is under 2 years old or weighs less than 30 pounds, regardless of age, must be placed in a rear-facing child restraint.
- A child between ages 2 and 4 or weighing between 30 to 39 pounds, regardless of age, must ride in either rear-facing or forward-facing child restraint.
- A child age 5 to 7 or weighing 40 to 59 pounds, regardless of age, must sit in a rear-facing child restraint, a forward-facing child restraint or a booster seat secured by a lap-and-shoulder seat belt.
- Any adolescent from 8 through 15 who weighs 60 pounds or more must use an approved child restraint system or a safety seat belt.
Please note that violations of these regulations could result in fees amounting to approximately $100.
Putting our children’s safety first is important, please share this information with others.